When Yang becomes Yin.

17 Sep

As the season slowly shifts into fall, I’ve started to transition my diet from light, crisp summer vegetables to heartier and heavier fall ones.  Fall and winter are the yin seasons in Chinese medicine.  Yin, as opposed to yang, is the darker, denser, slower aspect of things. When I think of yin, I picture curling up under the covers on a cold rainy day.  Yang, on the other hand, is the lighter, faster and more ephemeral aspects of existence. When I picture yang, I think of bright sunshine, lots of movement and a feeling of lightness.

my nephew = extreme yang!

my nephew = extreme yang!

sashi = extreme yin!

sashi = extreme yin!

During the yin seasons, when the days are shorter, it is important to allow our bodies to rest, replenish and recuperate – so that we are better able to expend energy when the yang seasons return.

One of my favorite yin foods is the sweet potato.  It’s dense, rich, and full of wonderful nutrients.  In Chinese medicine, sweet potatoes are good for digestion, energy and increasing body fluids (such as breast milk).  In Western terms, they are a wonderful source of Vitamin A.

Tonight I served a baked sweet potato with a mixture of sardines, mustard, horseradish, and garlic.  I added some chopped onions and spinach on top, then drizzled flax oil over everything.  On the side I had half of a hard boiled egg and some steamed green beans.  If you don’t like sardines (many people don’t) you can substitute chicken, tuna, or chickpeas, with excellent results.

IMG_2913

green beans with butter on top are so good!

green beans with butter on top are so good!

I hope you’re all enjoying the change of seasons!  Please let me know what your favorite fall/winter vegetable is, too!

Yay for Fight Back Friday from Food Renegade Blog!

6 Responses to “When Yang becomes Yin.”

  1. FoodRenegade September 18, 2009 at 2:00 pm #

    Mmm. I’m experimenting tomorrow with a sardine & garlic paste to see how my boys like it. This looks tasty.

    Thanks for joining in Fight Back Fridays today!

    Cheers,
    ~KristenM
    (AKA FoodRenegade)

  2. Michelle @ Find Your Balance September 18, 2009 at 4:55 pm #

    I like sardines! :-) Right now, my segue into fall includes the last of summer veggies in my CSA and the start of more potatoes and squash.

  3. pearsandplums September 18, 2009 at 10:59 pm #

    mmm, i think my favorite fall vegetable is fennel root. is that fall? it seems like it would be! its only my favorite if roasted though. with potatoes and carrots and onions and chicken!

  4. lala September 21, 2009 at 4:37 pm #

    i just wanted to tell you i made your chickpea + potato soup today and it was soooo good!! I did it exactly like you wrote!! and i just ate a whole bunch of it!

    • sunandmoonandstars September 21, 2009 at 5:03 pm #

      Yay! I’m so glad you liked it! It’s definitely one of my favorites!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Fight Back Friday September 18th | Food Renegade - September 24, 2009

    [...] Foraging for Mushrooms (Linsey)24. Win a Vegetable Fermentation Master at Nourished Kitchen25. Michelle Pawley – (sweet potato yumminess))26. OneHealthyGirl.com (e.a.r.t.h.food)27. Earth Friendly Goodies (Boo-licious Organic Halloween [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 103 other followers

