Let’s start with pizza!

12 Jul

Today marks my entrance into the world of blogging!  My aim with this blog is to talk about healthy eating and living (although other things may be thrown in at random)!  As an (almost) licensed acupuncturist I have been studying various aspects of health and wellness for years.  I believe very strongly in taking care of one’s body to prevent disease.   I love all of the patients that I see, and my ultimate goal is to take each of them to a place where their bodies are in a state of harmony – to a place where they aren’t getting sick as much, where they have tons of energy and where they are not pestered by physical ailments.   I guide patients to this place by using acupuncture, herbal therapy, massage and nutritional counseling.  With nutrition, I urge them to make healthy choices whenever possible, but mostly I want them to really love what they eat!  Making healthy choices is no easy task, and I’m always telling my patients to take baby steps when they want to make a change.  With that in mind may I present you with my choice for dinner tonight, something everyone loves…homemade pizza!

IMG_1572

The crust is whole wheat and courtesy of the amazing Jenna from eatliverun.com!  I used a simple heirloom tomato sauce and then added organic baby shitake mushrooms, spinach, garlic and mozzarella.  When it was cooked I sprinkled on fresh basil and a little freshly grated parmesan.  With the exception of the mushrooms, all the veggies came from my CSA (community supported agriculture – more on this later).  Voila!

IMG_1581

I served this with a salad of mixed greens, drizzled lightly in balsamic vinegar and topped with pine nuts.  Since it’s the weekend, I also opened a bottle of Merlot from one of my favorite organic wineries, Madonna Estates.   It was delicious!

IMG_1574

Now I’m off to relax in a hot bubble bath and prepare for a very looooong 12 hour shift tomorrow.  Take care!

5 Responses to “Let’s start with pizza!”

  1. lala July 13, 2009 at 4:30 pm #

    i really like your blog! i love pizza, it is nice to see a healthy version that also looks delicious. whats in the tomato sauce?

    • sunandmoonandstars July 13, 2009 at 5:46 pm #

      It’s really simple, just heirloom tomatoes, roasted garlic, onion and basil!

  2. Chx July 13, 2009 at 5:42 pm #

    Looks delicious!

  3. grace June 5, 2012 at 5:50 pm #

    I’ve been craving a pizza like the one in the top pizza — I know what to make for dinner tomorrow — thanks!!!

    • sunandmoonandstars June 6, 2012 at 6:09 am #

      You’re welcome! I’ll admit, looking back on my first blog post it seems like it was written by another person. I still can’t believe I once had all that time to cook.

Leave a Reply

