Meatball addict!

16 Jul

Phew! I finished my speech today! I have a few finishing touches to make and then of course I have to practice it a million times, but all in all I feel pretty good about it. I’ll post it on the blog after graduation is over so you can all read it! Tonight Sean gets to hear me practice it. The poor guy, he’ll probably hear it twenty times before the big day.

I was feeling in a great mood after a productive day, so I decided to make one of my all-time favorite dinners – turkey meatballs! Before I began cooking I set out a snack for Sean. He is usually starving when he gets home from work and I knew he would want something to nibble on right away. I laid out some very fresh olive bread for him with a little olive oil and balsamic vinegar. He loved it!

IMG_1608

IMG_1611

I have only recently started eating meat again and am absolutely addicted to these meatballs. First though let me say that I cannot follow recipes. I always get the itch to change things or adapt the recipe in some way. As a result, most of my meals end up being concoctions created from different recipe. The upside of this is that every meal is new and different, the downside is that if I make something great, it’s difficult to reproduce. That said, this is a recipe that I follow fairly closely. I love these meatballs so much that I want to be able to make them whenever I want! So here’s the recipe for Michelle’s Spicy Turkey Meatballs:

1 pound ground turkey. I use turkey from the Diestel family turkey ranch. Their turkeys are humanely raised and sustainably farmed, plus free of antibiotics and hormones. For more information visit their website here.
1 large onion, diced
3 cloves of garlic, diced
1 TBSP Fennel Seeds
1 TBSP Thyme
1 TBSP Rosemary
1 TBSP Oregano
Pinch of chili flakes or cayenne papper
Zest of 1/2 a lemon
1 TBSP brown rice flour OR 1/2 cup of breadcrumbs
1 egg
Handful of fresh flat leaf parsley

Saute the onions until they just start to brown. Add the garlic and saute for another 2 or 3 minutes. Add the fennel seeds and saute for another minute. Remove from heat and empty into a large bowl. Add the remaining ingredients and mix together. You can use your hands for this, if you want! Form the mixture into small balls and saute in oil until cooked through. Alternatively, you may bake in the oven at 400 degrees for 20 minutes.

Mmmm…there is nothing better than the smell of onions and garlic!

IMG_1610

Sashi always likes to perch on the fridge and watch me cook. Tonight the onions were making her eyes water, but she persevered (hoping to get a taste of turkey, I think).

IMG_1630

I added the meatballs to the rest of the heirloom tomato sauce, leftover from the pizza, and served it with kamut pasta. It was delicious!

IMG_1637

Okay, so I’m off to give my speech to Sean. I think I’ll take him a glass of Malbec to butter him up, so he says nice things about it!

3 Responses to “Meatball addict!”

  1. lala July 16, 2009 at 5:18 am #

    yum! thats the cutest cat i have ever seen. i will try your recipe next time i pick up some ground turkey!

    …. see you friday!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Simple Dinner Party « - August 12, 2009

    […] For recipe and cooking instructions click here. […]

  2. Mass, Meatballs and my Maniac « Sun & Moon & Stars - June 11, 2012

    […] so there was no freezer space to speak of.  Today I managed to make 50 delicious meatballs using this recipe.  For my extra-large batch, I doubled the recipe and used ground beef in place of  ground turkey. […]

Leave a Reply

