A Jersey Dinner

17 Jul

As a child my husband lived in New Jersey. He is always telling me how amazing Jersey corn and tomatoes are in the summer, and last year over the 4th of July, I had the chance to taste for myself. From my first bite I could tell that the corn and tomatoes were indeed something special.

Here in California, I belong to a CSA (Community Supported Agriculture). I’m a member of a CSA through Terra Firma Farm in Winters, California. Each week they provide us with a lovely box of fresh, organic, local fruits and veggies. The quality of produce is truly inspiring and reminds me of what vegetables should taste like (as opposed to what they taste like when frozen, shipped across the country and left to sit in a supermarket for days). In addition to the flavor, I receive fruits and vegetables that I would otherwise never try, broadening my palate and leading to greater culinary creativity. Occasionally, I still buy veggies in the store, some garlic or an onion usually, but mostly I go entirely by what’s in the box. This allows me to really feel connected to the season and the food that it produces.

So, back to corn and tomatoes…

I would argue that the corn and tomatoes we receive from our CSA are as good as, if not better than, Jersey tomatoes and corn. However, folks from Jersey (my husband) have a lot of pride and would never agree with me, so for the sake of keeping the peace, I’ll just say that these come a very close second. Tonight, I sprinkled a little sea salt and freshly ground pepper on some tomatoes.

IMG_1650

For the corn, I simply added garlic, salt and pepper to boiling water and then cooked for 5 minutes. We had these with Amy’s Organic Veggie Burgers, which I topped with red onion, avocado, mustard, mixed greens and served on sprouted wheat buns from Alvarado Bakery. A perfect Jersey dinner – in California.

IMG_1653

IMG_1659

One Response to “A Jersey Dinner”

  1. pearsandplums July 18, 2009 at 4:11 pm #

    3 of my patients yesterday had insomnia too! we should talk more about the waves of illness going around AIMC!

Leave a Reply

