Soup in July!

29 Jul

San Francisco is one of the only places in the country right now where it’s cold and foggy enough to crave soup. At Firefly on Sunday night my dad ordered a roasted heirloom tomato soup that looked amazing. Unfortunately, I was unable to taste it because it had sauteed shrimp on top, which I’m allergic to. Still, it inspired me to try to make my own version.

Last night I put together a chicken broth from the leftover chicken meat and bones from Saturday’s dinner. I put the bones and meat into my slow cooker and added water, apple cider vinegar, salt, pepper, a bay leaf, a handful of fresh herbs, carrots and celery. I turned the slow cooker on high and let it cook all night and all day. By this evening, I had some lovely, homemade broth to make soup with!

For the soup I used:

12 heirloom tomatoes, sliced
1 onion – 1/2 sliced and 1/2 chopped
3 cloves of garlic, peeled
1 tablespoon of olive oil
1 – 1 1/2 cups chicken or vegetable broth
salt and pepper to taste
1/4 cup cream/rice milk/almond milk/soy milk

First, I preheated my oven to 450F. Then, I took about a dozen heirloom tomatoes (any fresh tomatoes would work), sliced them and layered them in a baking dish. I sliced half an onion and scattered it on the tomatoes. Finally, I threw in a few cloves of garlic. I put everything in the oven to roast for about 30 minutes, or until the tomatoes started to brown a little. When these were done I removed the baking dish from the oven and allowed it to cool.

before roasting

before roasting

Meanwhile, I sauteed the other half of the onion in olive oil in a large pot. When the onions started to brown I added all the contents from the baking dish. I mixed everything together and then added a cup of my homemade chicken broth (you can add more if you like a thinner soup). I brought everything to a boil, then reduced the heat and let it simmer, covered, for 20 minutes. I then removed the soup from the heat and pureed it in a blender. I returned it to the pot and stirred in a few tablespoons of rice milk to give it a creamier texture. You can also add cream, almond milk, soy milk etc. Whatever you have on hand. To finish I topped the soup with some fresh basil. It was delicious!! For those if you in warmer parts of the country, this would also work really well as a chilled soup.

IMG_1889

I wanted something simple to accompany the soup and settled on an Italian Panzanella salad. This is basically a salad with cubed bread, olive oil, vinegar and vegetables. It’s easy to make and works with a wide variety of ingredients. I used:

1 small onion, chopped
1 cucumber, chopped
1 can of cannellini beans, drained and rinsed
1 cup of Italian bread, cubed
1/8 cup of red wine vinegar
1/8 cup of olive oil
salt and pepper to taste
handful of fresh basil, torn

First, I whisked the vinegar and oil together in a bowl. I then added the other ingredients, except the basil. I made sure everything was well coated in the vinegar and oil. I covered the bowl and put it in the fridge for a few hours. Before serving I removed it from the fridge, added the torn basil and mixed it well. I seasoned with salt and pepper. It was simple and delicious! A perfect summer salad. Fresh tomatoes, parsley, Italian cheese and other veggies can also be added to this salad. Just use what you have on hand!

IMG_1894

Dessert was a dark chocolate covered, salted caramel!

Amazing.

Amazing.

2 Responses to “Soup in July!”

  1. pearsandplums July 29, 2009 at 8:58 pm #

    that soup looks amazing! it was so cold in berkeley today! makes me miss soup club! and those caramels are my faaaaavorite =)

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Craving Comfort Foods? « - August 4, 2009

    […] add the stock. I used leftover chicken stock that I had made over the weekend. The stock may not cover the broccoli, but no worries, it will […]

Leave a Reply

