You say Omelette, I say Frittata!

30 Jul

A frittata, a kind of Italian omelette, is one of my favorite quick meals. I almost always have eggs in the house, so it’s easy to throw this together in the middle of the week when I don’t feel like heading out to the store. A frittata is best with just a few vegetables and a little cheese, I think. Adding too many fillings can weigh it down and make it watery, so I try to keep it simple and light. My favorite fillings are artichokes, spinach, sun dried tomatoes, olives, peppers, capers, goat cheese, fresh basil, smoked salmon, dill, parmesan and pesto. Usually I’ll select just two or three of these fillings, plus onion and garlic. Tonight I chose spinach, goat cheese and kalamata olives. Here are the ingredients:

2 cups of spinach.

2 cups of spinach.

6 eggs.

6 eggs.

2 oz chevre.

2 oz chevre.

Handful of kalamata olives, pitted.

Handful of kalamata olives, pitted.

1 (small) white onion and 2 cloves of garlic, chopped.

1 (small) white onion and 2 cloves of garlic, chopped.

First, in a large cast iron skillet, I sauteed the onions and garlic in a little olive oil. I would have preferred to use some ghee, but don’t have any at the moment. When these started to brown, I added the spinach and cooked it until it just started to wilt. I threw in the olives and stirred everything together. Meanwhile, I whisked 6 eggs with a small amount of rice milk (2-3 TBS), salt, and pepper, until foamy. You could use cream instead of the rice milk. I poured the eggs into the skillet and stirred everything together. I then crumbled the goat cheese on top of the mixture, like so.

Cook slowly!

Cook slowly!

I think it’s important not to cook a frittata too quickly. If you do, the bottom and sides will turn brown, but the center will still be watery and runny. To prevent this from happening, I turned the flame to low, covered the skillet and let it cook for 15 minutes. I then removed the lid from the skillet and placed it in the oven at 350F for another 15 minutes. Finally, to finish it, I put the frittata under the broiler until the top turned a lovely golden brown color. This only took 2-3 minutes. I removed the skillet from the broiler and let the frittata cool for about 10 minutes.

IMG_1918

While the frittata was cooking I roasted a handful of brussel sprouts that were leftover from Saturday’s dinner. I cut them in half and sprinkled them with some porcini-infused salt for a little flavor. These took about 25 minutes to roast, and they were perfect!

So good!

So good!

Finally, I warmed up the leftover heirloom tomato soup from last night and served it with some homemade olive bread croutons for a delicious appetizer!

Even better the next day!

Even better the next day!

All together it was a fantastic, quick dinner!

Now, I’m off to watch a movie with Sean, but will be back tomorrow to tell you about my new breakfast obsession!

Leave a Reply

