Breakfast of Champions!

31 Jul

Ahh…breakfast…the most important meal of the day. Of course we all know this, but few of us really take this to heart while rushing around the house in the morning trying to get ready for work. For most of my life, I either skipped breakfast entirely or grabbed a latte on my way to school, with a few extra shots of espresso thrown in for good measure. I then wondered why, at lunchtime, I either had no appetite or felt exhausted and moody.

A few years ago I decided to reconsider my stance on breakfast. I noticed that when I ate breakfast, I really felt better throughout the day. My appetite was healthy, I had sustained energy, my moods were improved and my metabolism was less sluggish. It’s so important to take the time to nourish yourself in the morning, even if it means waking up fifteen minutes earlier. I can assure you that you’ll feel better if you do!

So, what are some healthy choices for breakfast? With everything I choose, I include some lean protein because this helps me to feel full for longer and helps to stabilize my blood sugar. I particularly recommend this for people who are trying to lose weight.

Michelle’s Top Choices for Breakfast

1. Yogurt with Muesli and Fresh Fruit – I usually choose organic goat’s milk yogurt. I also love St. Benoit’s if I want a great cow’s milk yogurt, and I can get this at my local farmer’s market. I avoid low-fat or non-fat varieties. To be honest, I avoid buying low-fat or non-fat foods in general, because I don’t really believe these lead to weight loss or health. Often these products contain more sugar, as well as genetically modified corn additives, which your body just converts to fat. I also rarely buy fruit-flavored yogurt as the “flavorings” are usually in the form of high fructose corn syrup and don’t taste like real fruit. So, plain, full-fat yogurt is where it’s at!

For muesli, I like any simple, organic, no-sugar-added variety. Something with lots of nuts is great for even more protein! I love granola, too, but one has to be careful to find varieties without too much added sugar. I don’t really like any other form of breakfast cereal and avoid those evil, fruity cereals with toys that are targeted at children.

For fresh fruit, I like berries, bananas, melons, stone fruits, or whatever I have at home that is fresh and ripe!

The best!

The best!

2. Oatmeal – I remember eating a lot of oatmeal when I was a child. My parents used to say “it sticks to your ribs,” meaning it keeps you full all morning. So true! Oatmeal is such a wonderful comfort food. It’s perfect for the colder months to warm you up! I buy regular, organic oats to make oatmeal with. I usually avoid instant oatmeal or oatmeal with added sugar, just because these go through extra processing that doesn’t really seem that necessary to me. Making oatmeal from simple oats only takes about ten minutes as it is, so I don’t find that I save much time with instant varieties.

To get the protein, add nuts! Raw almonds, walnuts and pecans are all great choices. I also like to add sunflower seeds, dried fruit and cinnamon. For a treat on the weekend, I’ll saute a banana with a little cinnamon and put it on top!

3. Eggs – I love eggs. I really could eat them every day. Eggs have gotten a bad rap for being “high in cholesterol,” but really they are such a wonderful, nourishing, healthy food. High in protein and one of the only natural sources of Vitamin D, eggs are amazing. In Chinese medicine, we say that eggs tonify one’s very “essence.” I buy local, organic, free range eggs from farmers who use sustainable, humane farming practices as well as soy free feed. So, eat eggs!!

Finally, I like to start the morning with a cup of hot water with lemon. I usually make this first and drink it while I’m getting ready. It’s so refreshing first thing in the morning!

One Response to “Breakfast of Champions!”

  1. pearsandplums August 1, 2009 at 11:57 pm #

    That looks excellent! I almost forgot about muesli! Actually, I DID forget about muesli! and with yogurt and fruit… perfect!

Leave a Reply

