Sundays are for Siestas and Enchiladas!

2 Aug

Today was a pretty low-key day for us. I had some studying to do for a clinic point location exam tomorrow. It’s the last hurdle I have to jump over before finishing up for the term. I really, really hate practical exams–especially when they are timed and with so much information on them. In my exam tomorrow, I’ll be tested on 400 or so acupuncture points, plus 40 “extra points.” I have 15 minutes to mark and locate 15 randomly selected points. Blah. These tests are always the worst part of the term for me.

Oh well; by this time tomorrow, I’ll never have to do another point location exam again!!

I decided to make Mexican food for dinner tonight. I have tons of corn from my CSA (10 ears!), and thought it would go well with some chicken and zucchini in enchiladas. So, to make my Roasted Corn and Chicken Enchiladas I used the following ingredients:

• 1 chicken breast – cooked in homemade chicken broth then shredded.

• 4 ears of corn – removed from cob and roasted in oven until slightly brown.

• 4 sprouted whole wheat flour tortillas.

• 3 small zucchinis, sliced.

• 1 onion, diced.

• 3 cloves of garlic, chopped.

• 1 tsp chili powder–I like ancho chili powder.

• 2 cups of tomatillo salsa–I bought a premade organic salsa.

• 2 TBSP yogurt.

• Handful of shredded organic cheddar cheese (or cheese of your choice).

• Handful of cilantro, chopped. Feel free to omit if you don’t like cilantro!

onion and garlic

onion and garlic

zucchini

zucchini

corn (before roasting)

corn (before roasting)

cilantro

cilantro

First, I cooked the chicken breast in 2 cups of chicken broth. When the chicken was done, I removed it from the heat and let it cool. After it was cool, I shredded it and set it aside. I then cut the corn off the cob on all 4 ears of corn. I put the corn on a baking sheet and popped it in the oven at 350F to roast. When the corn started to brown, I removed it from the oven and set it aside to cool. Next, I sauteed the onion and garlic in a little of the fat that I had removed from my homemade chicken stock earlier in the week. You can saute in whatever type of oil you like. When these were starting to brown, I added the zucchini and sauteed for another 5 minutes. I then turned the flame to low and stirred in the roasted corn, shredded chicken, chili powder and 1 TBSP of the yogurt. I heated this through, then removed from the heat, and added salt and pepper to taste. Finally, I stirred in a handful of chopped cilantro.

enchilada filling!

enchilada filling!

I placed the flour tortillas in a baking dish and filled them with my corn and chicken mixture, until quite full. I then turned each tortilla so the seam was down, to prevent them from opening while in the oven. I had some leftover filling, which I set aside. My plan is to make some quinoa and mix it with the leftover chicken and corn mixture for a quick lunch during the week.

Next, I took 2 cups of my tomatillo (green) salsa and mixed it with my other TBSP of yogurt. I poured the salsa and yogurt mixture over the tortillas and spread it around evenly. It’s fine if there appears to be a lot of water in the pan; it will cook down. I spread a handful of freshly grated organic cheddar cheese on top.

me cooking!

me cooking!

I covered the baking dish with foil and put in the oven at 400F for 35 minutes. After 25 minutes I removed the foil to let the top start to brown.

While the enchiladas were baking I prepared a quick homemade salsa. I used:

• 3 small heirloom tomatoes

• 1/2 an avocado

• Handful of cilantro, chopped

• 1 tsp lemon juice

• 1/2 shallot, chopped

• salt and pepper

I chopped all of the ingredients and threw then into a bowl. I then poured the lemon juice on top and seasoned with salt and pepper.

fresh salsa

fresh salsa

Finally, I had purchased a pack of six tortillas but only needed four to make my enchiladas. I took the remaining 2 tortillas, cut them into triangles and baked them in the oven with some sea salt until brown and crispy (about 15 minutes). I served these on the side with the homemade salsa.

The finished product!  So delicious.

The finished product! So delicious.

Now I’m off to enjoy the rest of Sunday, relaxing with Sashi and Sean. Sashi got a head start, this is where I found her after dinner!

IMG_0025

Have a good week!

Leave a Reply

