Got Raw Milk?

6 Aug

Today’s post will be a quick one, because Sean and I are off to meet some old friends from college for a drink.

So after years of being a vegan and eschewing all dairy products, I have recently come full circle and started embracing raw milk and dairy. My reason for doing this is for health, with some of my main influences being the work of Weston A. Price, Nina Planck and the amazing cookbook, Nourishing Traditions. For me, becoming vegan was about discipline, health, and finding a way to step outside of the frightening world of industrialized food. I believed it was the healthiest option for me at that time. However, I was always open and willing to change my diet if I ever thought that there was a better way. Recently, I have come to believe that consuming animal products in their whole, traditional form is the better option. By whole and traditional, I mean animals raised the way they are supposed to raised, fed the foods that they are supposed to eat, and that their products are unprocessed.

In terms of milk, this means 100% raw, whole milk. There are a lot of misconceptions about the safety of raw milk, and many of those questions can be answered here. Let me just say that, in my experience, raw milk, from reputable farms, is healthy and safe. Obviously, if you have any concerns over consuming raw milk, then caveat emptor, but personally I think it’s much better than industrialized dairy.

So today we went shopping for some good dairy products! We got raw milk, raw kefir, yogurt and ghee! What a haul!

IMG_2067

When we got home, I made raw milk and kefir milkshakes with frozen strawberries and blueberries–so good!

IMG_2069

Dinner was quick and simple, a 3-egg omelette with goat’s milk feta, spinach and sundried tomatoes. We had some sprouted rye bread with organic butter on the side!

I couldn't eat it all!

I couldn't eat it all!

I should obviously put in a disclaimer here that these are merely my opinions on consuming raw milk. If you are concerned about what is best for you, particularly if you are pregnant or immunocomprimised, then please consult your doctor.

Take care!

4 Responses to “Got Raw Milk?”

  1. pearsandplums August 6, 2009 at 9:57 pm #

    yay! raw milk! and st. benoit yogurt is the best! i havent tried that kefir (qephor?) yet… let me know how you like it =)

  2. Amy Shouse August 11, 2009 at 5:02 pm #

    I love the pics Michelle, they are beautiful. I’m gonna try some of your recipes. Go raw milk! The other day in class somebody asked what raw milk tastes like compared to regular milk. Ona put it perfectly….she said, “Remember the first time you had real parmesan cheese that wasn’t out of the green can? Kinda like that.” Great analogy. I have been thinking of getting a group of people together and doing a tour of one of the raw milk farms close to here. I’ll let you know when that happens just in case you and Sean wanna come along (bring the camera!).

    • sunandmoonandstars August 12, 2009 at 10:11 am #

      I’m totally down to do a farm tour! That would be so much awesome!

  3. graemebird December 27, 2010 at 2:30 pm #

    You’ve got the right idea. I wish I had that food so readily available where I am. Here is what I’ve written about it.

Leave a comment