Burger mania!

7 Aug

So as some of you may have figured out by now, I was a vegetarian and then vegan for many, many moons. I decided to become a vegetarian in my youth for a variety of reasons, but have recently decided to eat meat again (also for a variety of reasons). I readily ate fish, chicken and turkey — these seemed pretty non-intimidating. But, I had yet to tackle red meat…until tonight.

Being me, I had, of course, researched all of the places in San Francisco where I could get a burger made from high quality beef. It needed to be humanely farmed, sustainable blah blah blah…you’ve all heard my spiel by now, I think. Luckily, I found a place just down the street that had burgers made from Niman Ranch beef, so of course, there I went.

Bring it on, Barney.

Bring it on, Barney.

The menu was pretty intimidating. At first I said, “oh look, honey, they have veggie burgers,” thinking maybe I could get out of the whole thing. But then the little Weston Price on my shoulder said, “no, Michelle, your days of isolate soy protein are over. Get the beef.” So, I got the beef. A simple, straightforward burger, with no elaborate fixings. I wanted to taste the meat, not the guacamole and chili on top.

So many choices!

So many choices!

At first I was a little afraid, waiting for it to arrive. Likewise, Sean was a little freaked out.

a little nervous.

a little nervous.

too late to turn back now!

too late to turn back now!

But then I started to get excited.

I'm ready!

I'm ready!

Finally, the moment arrived.

not crazy about the white flour bun...but i can deal.

not crazy about the white flour bun...but i can deal.

I took a bite…

IMG_2086

and holy crap…it was amazing.

I managed to eat half of it (Sean ate all of his, he’s now going crazy in the living room!).

Wow, am I ever full. I think I may be full for the next three days, literally. But, I do feel tonified, that’s for sure.

burger coma.

burger coma.

It’s not something I could do very often, but definitely a lot of fun to start eating meat again!

9 Responses to “Burger mania!”

  1. pearsandplums August 7, 2009 at 10:08 pm #

    that post was amazing. i was laughing the whole time. i love you and seans cute little faces. and im so glad to hear it was a good experience!!

  2. Michelle @ Find Your Balance August 8, 2009 at 6:38 am #

    haha that’s awesome. Your days of isolate soy protein are in fact over and that’s a wonderful thing 🙂

  3. Dad August 8, 2009 at 11:41 am #

    Michelle, your carnivore Dad is not surprised, but impressed. Your journey has resulted in a level of self discipline, physical fitness and “balance” that I have never attained. So no more jokes about your diet, just keep those wonderful meals coming like you did on our recent vist to San Francisco. With all my love and respect, Dad

  4. Heather Bree August 8, 2009 at 1:02 pm #

    This burger blog is hilarious and inspiring! In a time where people seem to get quicker and less nutritious about our food intake, Michelle’s blog is about how to appreciate healthy food and healthy living in many creatively refreshing ways! I am not a blog reader – but since this one really takes the cake, hehe, I don’t think I will be able to stay away!

  5. Alison August 8, 2009 at 5:11 pm #

    Congrats on eating read meat again. I was a vegetarian for 7 years and know how weird it is to introduce meat back into your diet. You might be interested to read this thread about grass-fed meat in the bay area: http://tinyurl.com/ljtt3o You should check out Fatted Calf they buy all of their meat from suppliers that raise sustainable meat and they have the best bacon. http://www.fattedcalf.com/ How long have you known about the WAPF? To get more blog traffic you may want to post your blog on here: http://www.foodrenegade.com/ for Fight Back Friday.

    • sunandmoonandstars August 8, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

      Thanks for the tips, I’ll definitely check out those resources!

  6. Diana August 9, 2009 at 1:27 pm #

    Woooo hooo! Welcome back to the delights of omnivorous eating! I am so happy that you LOVED your rebirth into burger-dom.
    Deeeeeeelicious!
    🙂

  7. Ryan & Erika August 10, 2009 at 10:00 pm #

    HA! This post was good! I love it that you took time to choose the best burger joint….that’s very…you… lol. Erika said you need to cheese next time (but not swiss)…and I’m only going to assume that “sean going crazy in the living room!” –after eating a whole burger– consisted of leaps of joy, dancing, and jumping on a pogo stick screaming in ecstasy….I understand, I do the same thing after I eat ‘Steak N Shake’.

    Hope your road to being an omnivore is trailed with many dead and delicious cows!!! MMMMM!!!!!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Homemade Burger Mania! « - August 31, 2009

    […] 31, 2009 in Dinner A few weeks ago, I ate a hamburger. This was, for me, a hugely significant event as I have been vegetarian/vegan for most of my adult […]

Leave a Reply

