Dreaming of Italy.

8 Aug

It was almost two years ago that Sean and I were in Italy for our honeymoon. It was really such an amazing trip, and I can’t wait to return someday. Like most people, one of my favorite things about Italy was the food (and wine 🙂 )! We ate delicious fresh tomatoes, pizza, pasta, bread, olive oil, basil…mmmm. I could go on and on.

Here are a few photos of me doing some very important things in Italy.

Cooking pasta.

Cooking pasta.

Eating gelato.

Eating gelato.

Drinking Campari.

Drinking Campari.

It doesn’t really get much better than that!

Tonight I was longing for a little of that fresh Italian flavor, so I decided to try a recipe from the New York Times dining section for pasta con salsa crudo, a delicious dish with lots of fresh summer flavors. In my version, I used:

• heirloom tomatoes
hand caught tuna packed in olive oil (and with no added preservatives).
• capers
• kalamata olives
• fresh basil
• lemon zest
• red pepper flakes
• pine nuts
• extra virgin olive oil
• organic kamut pasta

a whole lotta heirlooms!

a whole lotta heirlooms!

letting everything marinate, before adding the pasta.

letting everything marinate, before adding the pasta.

The recipe has exact quantities, and I followed it pretty closely. We had tons of leftovers, which will be the perfect lunch for tomorrow (and the next day)! I topped my version with a little freshly grated parmesan and served it with some Chianti! It was amazing, and I felt like I was in Italy (until it was time to do the dishes, that is).

magnifica!

magnifica!

3 Responses to “Dreaming of Italy.”

  1. Michelle @ Find Your Balance August 9, 2009 at 7:57 am #

    That looks gorgeous, and so flexible! You could use it to top salads or add to omelettes or on crackers… awesome.

  2. pearsandplums August 9, 2009 at 11:13 am #

    yum! you are such a natural born chef

  3. Valerie August 9, 2009 at 10:25 pm #

    That looks like something that would go great on a crostini.

Leave a Reply

