The Cheesesteak Antidote

27 Aug

After a two-week long, whirlwind vacation, Sean and I finally arrived home earlier this week.   As much as I love being on vacation, I’m always ready to come home.   While away, I try not to stress about what I’m eating and usually I can find a nice balance between eating well and indulging in delicious treats. This vacation was no exception. I indulged in fish and chips on the Brighton waterfront, pints of warm, flat cider while hiking in Devil’s Dyke, my first authentic Italian hoagie from Voltaco’s in Ocean City, tons of homemade ice cream and a classic, vegetarian full English breakfast. I even went so far as to have a bite of a Philly’s cheesesteak that my husband ordered! Yet, I still managed to balance things out (a little) with delicious, homemade vegan lasagna, fresh quinoa salad, soba noodles, lots of fresh fruit and yogurt, and an incredible vegetarian feast from Terre a Terre in Brighton.

yes, those are french fries with guacamole.

yes, those are french fries with guacamole.

Because of my tendency to indulge, when I return home from vacation I like to keep my diet really clean for a week or two. I really hate to use the word “detox” because to me that brings to mind connotations of fasting, and this is not my intention. Instead, I just focus on eating simple, mostly vegan food. This is like wiping the slate clean, so that any damage done during times of vacation excess, can be quickly undone with a little post-vacation discipline.

enjoying a water ice on the boardwalk in Ocean City.

enjoying a water ice on the boardwalk in Ocean City.

I called last night’s dinner the “cheesesteak antidote”. A simple meal of steamed kale, steamed beets, quinoa, smoked salmon and sauerkraut. I topped the beets and kale with a simple gravy made from veggie broth and nutritional yeast, and added a few radishes on the side.

beets and kale

beets and kale

delicious, simple, clean.

delicious, simple, clean.

with nutritional yeast sauce, sauerkraut and radishes.

with nutritional yeast sauce, sauerkraut and radishes.

This whole week is dedicated to eating clean, so check back later for more recipes and dinner ideas!

One Response to “The Cheesesteak Antidote”

  1. lala August 28, 2009 at 12:59 am #

    french fries with guacamole, wow thats the best idea ive ever heard of! i kind of wish restaurants had that here. it all looks really really good. i love your balancing meals too. so fresh and clean and simple! and nutritional yeast! how i love thee.

    ❤ !!!

Leave a Reply

