The Bay Area is burning up!

29 Aug

It is (finally) summer here in San Francisco. While the rest of the country is slowly transitioning into autumn, those of us in the Bay area are digging out our swimsuits, slathering on our sunscreen, and heading outside!  Truly hot days are a rare occurrence in San Francisco, and I know I am not alone when I say that the last thing I want to do with a nice summer day is spend it in a hot kitchen. Today was definitely one of those days, so my challenge was to make a delicious meal that required very little cooking.

To start the day, Sean and I went for a walk. We then exchanged gifts for our second wedding anniversary. The second year, traditionally, is the year to buy each other cotton gifts, so he bought me an apron, which I’ve been wanting for ages (I’ve been cooking since I was 8 and never had an apron!). Here’s a pic of me donning said apron. My jeans are very happy to have a barrier between them and my messy hands!

my jeans thank you, babe.

my jeans thank you, babe.

cooking in my new apron!

cooking in my new apron!

On a hot day like today, cool, thirst quenching beverages are of utmost importance. Today I decided to make strawberry agua fresca, the best drink ever, which is basically just crushed stawberries, honey (or agave nectar) and water. To make it, I blended 2 cups of strawberries with a few tablespoons of honey and some water. I out the berry puree in a large pitcher and then filled it to the top with water. I chilled it for a few hours before serving. It was so good, and the perfect drink for a hot day. This would be excellent mixed with rum or tequila for those of you who are so inclined. 😉

IMG_2698

 

Dinner was very simple and in line with my clean eating week. First, I made a toasted corn and edamame salad with the following ingredients:

1 cup fresh edamame, remove from pod and boil for 3 minutes.
2 ears corn – corn removed from cob and toasted in a cast iron skillet.
1 heirloom tomato, diced
1/2 cup chickpeas
1 handful of fresh basil, chopped
1 tsp plain yogurt
1 clove garlic
1 TBSP lemon juice
1 tsp olive oil
salt and pepper to taste

I combined all of the ingredients in a large bowl and let it chill for an hour before serving.

To accompany this I made sardine crostini.  Last night, Sean and I went to Foreign Cinema, an amazing restaurant in the Mission District, to celebrate our anniversary. Sean ordered a sardine crostini appetizer, which I thought was delicious.  I wanted to replicate this – but make it my own – so I came up with the following recipe.

6 slices whole grain baguette
1 clove garlic
1 TBSP olive oil
1 can wild caught sardine in olive oil
3 scallions, chopped
Whole grain mustard
Shaved parmesan

First, I drizzled olive oil over the slices of baguette, and then spread the chopped garlic evenly on each piece.  I then toasted these in the oven until they were crispy.  I topped the bread with sardines, scallion, a dollop of mustard and a piece of shaved parmesan. I seasoned with salt and pepper and served. Delicious!

 

Omega 3 overload!

Omega 3 overload!

all together now!

all together now!

Such a great dinner for a hot day–cooking doesn’t always mean slaving away in front of a hot stove! Now, I’m off to have glass of chilled, white wine and watch (the original) Cape Fear with Sean. Good night!

4 Responses to “The Bay Area is burning up!”

  1. pearsandplums August 30, 2009 at 1:43 pm #

    wow i love that apron!! little cherries, so cute. and even i, a true seafood hater, would eat that sardine crostini because it looks amazing. cant wait to see you!

  2. Valerie August 31, 2009 at 10:16 am #

    What a sweet gift! What did you get for him?

    • sunandmoonandstars August 31, 2009 at 11:39 am #

      I got him cotton handkerchiefs with his initials embroidered on them!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. A Delicious Dinner for Four! « - September 4, 2009

    […] For recipe and information click here! […]

Leave a Reply

