Homemade Burger Mania!

31 Aug

A few weeks ago, I ate a hamburger. This was, for me, a hugely significant event as I have been vegetarian/vegan for most of my adult life. The burger I tried, made from Niman Ranch beef, was truly incredible. However, I suspected that I could make a slightly healthier version at home.

the original burger

the original burger

First, I wanted to use 100% grass-fed beef from Marin Sun Farms, an absolutely amazing supplier of grass-fed and pasture raised livestock. I went to Drewes Bros. Meats – the best butcher shop in San Francisco – to get the beef I wanted. Second, I wanted to make the burgers much smaller than the one I had tried a few weeks ago. A half-pound burger was way too much for me to handle, and I ended up eating less than half of it. So, today I purchased half a pound of beef to make two burgers. Third, I can’t abide a white flour bun. So, for today’s foray into the burger world, I purchased sprouted-grain buns from Alvarado Street Bakery. Finally, I had to get some organic ketchup with no high fructose corn syrup!

With all of these elements in place, I got down to business.

First, I laid out some toppings…

heirloom tomato, red onion, lettuce.

heirloom tomato, red onion, lettuce.

Next, I seasoned the burgers with salt and pepper and cooked them in a little ghee for about 5 minutes on each side. They ended up being medium-well done, which was pretty good. I added some organic sharp cheddar and popped them under the broiler for about a minute at the very end. I served the burgers with a salad of mixed greens, sweet red peppers, dried cranberries and cashews! Delicious.
Homemade burgers are where it’s at!

IMG_2718

no fries allowed!

no fries allowed!

IMG_2723

While I’ll never forget my first burger, I think the homemade one was definitely an improvement!

7 Responses to “Homemade Burger Mania!”

  1. Minu August 31, 2009 at 10:31 pm #

    topped with cashew, you can induce me to eat the greens. Great

  2. sunandmoonandstars September 1, 2009 at 11:30 am #

    cashews make everything taste good! thanks for reading!

  3. Valerie September 1, 2009 at 11:55 am #

    Have you tried buffalo yet? It’s a leaner red meat. And since it is such a niche market meat, grass fed organic is pretty much all you can get. pretty tasty!

  4. pearsandplums September 1, 2009 at 5:49 pm #

    michelle im so proud of you and your grass-fed red meat! those look amazing! better than any restaurant burger ive ever seen.

  5. sunandmoonandstars September 1, 2009 at 6:01 pm #

    thanks lovely lady! you’ll have to come over soon so I can make one for you!

  6. Heather Bree September 6, 2009 at 8:15 am #

    I actually clicked on this before I even realized it was you! We just got some local grass-fed beef at the Farmer’s Market so I wanted to see how someone else was doing it and there you were. What about grease splatter and a meat smell in the house? No problems?

    • sunandmoonandstars September 6, 2009 at 9:17 am #

      no problems at all. the grass fed beef tends to be very lean but still flavorful. just clean up any grease right away! so funny that you found this on your own, i love it!

Leave a Reply

