Warm Soup on a Rainy Day

14 Sep

It rained this weekend in the Bay Area, an unusual occurrence for this time of year.   Typically it doesn’t start to rain here until November or December, so an early rain is quite a treat. The entire weekend I wanted nothing more than to curl up with a good book, cuddle with Sashi, drink cups of tea, and eat warm bowls of soup.

I love soup so much and eat a lot of it in the winter.  In addition to being nourishing and comforting, it’s also really easy to make.  Often, I make soup using my crockpot, so it simmers away all day while I’m out. Then, when I come home, dinner is ready and the house smells amazing. One of my favorite soups, which consists of potatoes, chickpeas and spinach, is also the easiest to make.  It’s an amazing soup with a rich, creamy texture, but without dairy (if you omit the butter).   Even though I now eat animal products, I like to take nights off and eat something vegan to balance things out.  So, try this soup out on your next cold, rainy, fall day.  I promise you won’t be disappointed!

Chickpea, Spinach and Potato Soup (Vegan)

• 1 large, white onion, diced OR 2 leeks white parts chopped
• 1 TBSP olive oil (or butter/ghee, if you prefer)
• 6 – 8 medium potatoes, peeled and diced (the more potatoes you add, the thicker the soup)
• 2 cups of chickpeas, cooked
• 2 cups of spinach, washed
• 4 cups of vegetable broth
• flat leaf parsley for garnish
• salt and pepper to taste

To make, I simply sauteed the onion in the oil, then added the potatoes. I mixed these with the onions and stirred until they were coated in the oil.

potatoes and onions

potatoes and onions

I then added the chickpeas. I stirred everything together and added the broth. Next, I brought the soup to a boil, reduced the heat and simmered, covered, for 30 minutes or until the potatoes were soft.

ready to cook!

ready to cook!

Finally, I stirred in the spinach and let it wilt into the soup. To achieve a creamy texture I blended about half of the soup. I like soup to be creamy, but still chunky, so I typically only blend half of the soup. I mixed the blended soup back into the pot and stirred everything together. The resulting soup was thick, creamy, and delicious!

ready to eat!

ready to eat!

To serve, I topped with fresh parsley, salt, pepper, and some flax oil. I love flax oil and used to drizzle it over every meal when I was vegan, since it’s such a great source of essential fatty acids. Now I use it more sparingly, but it’s perfect for a soup like this, and adds a rich, nutty flavor. I also added a chunk of Levain Walnut Bread from Acme Bread in San Francisco. This is a nice, hearty, wheat bread with huge chunks of walnuts in it! Delicious!!

flax oil

flax oil

drizzled with oil and served with levain walnut bread!

drizzled with oil and served with levain walnut bread!

So, I like to curl up on my couch or in my bed on a cold, rainy day. But, some people in my family prefer to spend their days curled up in rather unusual locations…

what could be more comfortable than a wine rack?

what could be more comfortable than a wine rack?

3 Responses to “Warm Soup on a Rainy Day”

  1. pearsandplums September 14, 2009 at 11:30 pm #

    yay! back FULL FORCE!! what a typical, wonderful michelle soup! i miss hearing about all of your soup variations, im glad we always have the blogs… aaaaand.. sashi looks really really cute. she is very photogenic.

  2. MIKE September 15, 2009 at 3:27 am #

    Wow the soup looks so good on a cool morning in Delaware. I can’t wait til I get a chance to make some myself. Keep up the good work.

  3. Valerie September 16, 2009 at 3:52 pm #

    I’m keeping this one for the next cold day! It looks like it makes a lot. Does it freeze well?

    Remember soup club?

Leave a Reply

