An Easter Feast!

4 Apr

Happy Easter, everyone! We’re having a lovely, cozy, rainy Easter here in San Francisco. This morning my husband and I went to church, and since we’ve been home I’ve been preparing our yummy Easter feast. The menu for today is:

• Creamy Carrot Soup
• Slow Cooker Ham
• Potatoes Dauphinoise
• Roasted Asparagus
• Buttermilk Biscuits

And for dessert…a delicious Lemon Shaker Pie!

Now for the recipes!

Creamy Carrot Soup

• 1/2 pound carrots, peeled and sliced
• 1 small, Yukon Gold potato, diced
• 1/2 of a large, yellow onion, diced
• 2 cloves garlic, chopped
• pinch of cumin
• 1 tsp of honey
• 2 1/2 cups of chicken broth (or veggie broth)
• 1/4 cup heavy cream
• salt and pepper, to taste

First, I sauteed the onion and garlic in a dollop of butter until the onions were translucent. I added the pinch of cumin and stirred everything together. Next, I added the chopped carrots and potato. I then poured in the chicken broth, put the lid on my pot, and brought everything to a boil (over a medium/low flame) When the carrots and potatoes were soft, I pureed the soup until smooth. I then stirred in the cream, honey, salt and pepper. To serve, I just added a little chopped parsley! Delicious!

Potatoes Dauphinoise

Okay, I’ll admit, this is just a fancy, French way of saying scalloped potatoes! These potatoes are heavenly, and go perfectly with the ham.

• 6 large, Yukon Gold potatoes, thinly sliced.
• 2 cups of grated, Gruyere cheese.
• 1/2 pint of heavy cream (or milk if you want it to be less rich).
• 2 cloves of garlic, chopped
• 1 tsp thyme
• 3 TBSP butter

First, I greased the bottom of a ceramic casserole dish. Then, I alternately layered the sliced potatoes with the grated cheese. Next, I sauteed the garlic in a little bit of butter. I stirred in the cream and added the thyme. I warmed the mixture, being careful not to let it boil. I then poured the cream mixture over the potatoes, added dollops of butter to the top (as much or as little as one wants). I seasoned with salt and pepper, then baked in the oven for 1 1/2 hours at 325F. For the first hour or so of baking, I kept the potatoes covered with foil. I uncovered them at the end, so the top would be a nice, golden brown.

Buttermilk Drop Biscuits

These biscuits are so yummy, and so easy to throw together. No kneading necessary!

• 1 1/2 cups unbleached flour (wheat flour is good too!)
• 2 tsp baking powder
• 1/2 tsp baking soda
• 1/2 tsp salt
• 6 TBSP chilled, unsalted butter
• 1/2 cup buttermilk

First, I combined the dry ingredients. Next, I added the butter, dicing it into cubes first. Using my hands, I mixed the butter into the dry mixture until the entire mixture resembled a coarse meal. Finally, I added the buttermilk and stirred everything together. I dropped the biscuits onto a baking sheet, using about a 1/4 cup of dough for each one. This recipe makes 6 biscuits. The biscuits baked in the oven at 325 for 15 minutes until they began to turn golden brown. I drizzled honey on them to serve. The sweetness is perfect with the salty ham!

The ham and asparagus were very simple. For the ham, I simply put our 5lb ham in the slow cooker and let it cook on high for 4 hours. The asparagus was simply roasted in the oven with some olive oil and salt! All in all, a delicious Easter feast! Now I’m off to have a cup of tea and put my feet up!

Oh, I almost forgot…later we’ll be having a delicious Lemon Shaker Pie from Mission Pie in San Francisco. But first, baby and I need time to digest…

One Response to “An Easter Feast!”

  1. MaryMoh April 5, 2010 at 2:29 am #

    That’s such a beautiful meal! Happy Easter! Wow…you are going to have a baby soon…exciting!

Leave a Reply

