A Year Ago…

8 Feb

A year ago today I was 19 weeks pregnant and about to find out the sex of my baby.

I was so excited.

I didn’t really care if I was having a boy or a girl.

I was just ready to start shopping for baby clothes!

Our appointment was late in the day and we had to wait for what seemed like an eternity.

But finally, after 19 weeks of wondering, we were told by the ultrasound technician,

“You’re having a girl baby!”

I squeezed Sean’s hand…a girl, a girl, we’re having a little girl. I was so happy and tears of joy streamed down my face.

Then, something happened. The tone of the room shifted. I looked at the ultrasound tech and her brow was furrowed as she stared at the screen.

Then she ran out the room.

Yes, she bolted. On her way I out I heard the words…”wrong with your placenta.”

Of course it was hard to make out exactly what she said because she was RUNNING OUT OF THE ROOM.

When healthcare professionals run it’s usually not a good thing.

And boy was she running. Awesome.

My tears of joy turned into tears of terror. I squeezed Sean’s hand so tight it may have turned purple.

A few moments later the doctor came in.

When healthcare professionals don’t keep you waiting it’s usually not a good thing.

“Hmmm…,” he said looking at the screen (more brow furrowing).

He then went on to tell me that there was an issue with the placenta. Apparently I had two instead of one and the umbilical cord was inserted between them. It was called a velamentous cord insertion. He then said we’d probably have to deliver our little one early, via c-section, and there may be some issues with her growth.

When we arrived home, after sitting in the car and crying for awhile, I decided to take a bath.

I had never been more afraid. I felt horribly guilty that I had given my daughter some kind of deformed placenta, making things difficult for her. I felt uncertain, terrified, and at that moment would have given anything to ensure that my little girl would be healthy and safe. Then all of a sudden…

Thwap!

She kicked me harder then she’d ever kicked me before.

Ouch!

And with that kick I had a feeling that she was going to be okay.

We were closely monitored throughout the pregnancy but the issues with her cord never presented a problem. We had a wonderfully uncomplicated delivery at 42 weeks, and my little girl turned out to be not just healthy, but ROBUST!

I'm tough, Mom

But she knew that the entire time.

5 Responses to “A Year Ago…”

  1. sandra axelrod February 8, 2011 at 4:56 pm #

    I had chills the whole time I was ready your post! I am so thrilled it had a happy ending. Your little girl is just adorable with those huge deep blue eyes.

    • sunandmoonandstars February 9, 2011 at 6:41 am #

      Thank you! I’m so glad you enjoyed it.

  2. Donna from Yumma Yumma February 8, 2011 at 8:01 pm #

    What a beautiful story! So glad it had a happy ending! Your little girl is adorable. She reminds me of my niece who is about 5 1/2 months old and has bright red hair and big blue eyes too!

    • sunandmoonandstars February 9, 2011 at 6:42 am #

      Thanks! And congrats on your niece! Redheads certainly seems to keep their mommas on their toes!!

  3. eripaige February 10, 2011 at 9:58 am #

    I started getting all teary reading this. Just remembering your mom calling us and telling what was found and now thinking of how Bea is growing into a healthy and beautiful little girl.

Leave a Reply

