Sweet & Salty Soda Bread

22 Mar

So, I’ve had a lot of people ask me lately why I don’t post recipes anymore.  I still cook, daily, but that hasn’t really been reflected in my blog of late.  The main reason is that I have my hands full with my sous chef, so taking pictures of food becomes a little difficult. But, slowly, I’m getting the hang of wielding a baby, a camera, and a plate of food – so you can look forward to more food blogs in the future!

Today I’m going to share with you our St. Patrick’s day meal.  Corned Beef, Cabbage and a delicious Irish Soda Bread.

Irish Soda Bread – makes 2 loaves

  • 2 1/2 cups sifted all-purpose unbleached flour
  • 2 1/2 cups whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons salt
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 pound (1 stick) butter
  • 3 tablespoons caraway seeds
  • 2 1/2 cups buttermilk
  • 1 large egg, slightly beaten

Preheat the oven to 400F and generously butter 2 cookie sheets.

Stir together the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda. Cut in the butter and mix very thoroughly with your hands until it gets grainy and there are no large lumps.

Whisk together the buttermilk and egg.  Add to the dry ingredients.  Using a rubber spatula mix until just incorporated, but DO NOT OVER MIX.  The key to a light, fluffy texture is to not work the dough too much.  Divide the dough in half and form into round loaves on your cookie sheets.  Using a knife make an X on the top of each loaf.  Bake in the oven at 400F for 15 minutes.

After 15 minutes pull the loaves out and brush with butter.  Sprinkle the caraway seeds on top.  Decrease the oven temp to 350F. Return to the oven and bake for 20-30 more minutes or until a knife inserted comes out clean.  When you tap on the loaves they will sound hollow.  Allow to cool and serve with lots of butter!

 

My corned beef and cabbage was really easy.  I bought a pre-brined corned beef brisket and put it in the slow cooker with 3 cups of water (although Guinness would be good too!), 1 cup of brown sugar and 1/4 cup spicy, brown mustard.  I cooked it on high for 6 hours until the brisket was so tender it fell apart.  The cabbage was simply sliced and boiled.

I served it with boiled, fingerling potatoes and a sauce made of horseradish, mustard and sour cream.

 

 

Try this at home. I promise you that it will taste delicious!

 

Almost as delicious as this crib!

One Response to “Sweet & Salty Soda Bread”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Greek Pasta Salad « Sun & Moon & Stars - June 24, 2012

    […] been awhile since I’ve posted anything remotely food related, so I thought I’d shake things up with […]

Leave a Reply

