An Update and a Challenge

13 Sep

So, don’t get me wrong, I love to blog, I really do.  But, since my little sous chef was born, I’ve found it difficult to find the time.  Those of you with children and busy lives will understand that sometimes hobbies get pushed aside in the madness of everyday life.  However, as a new mother, it’s important to have an outlet, especially now that I’m living in a new and unfamiliar town.  So, I’m setting myself a blogging challenge.  I’m going to update my blog at least weekly for two months and see what happens.   Okay?

Okay.

Let’s begin with an update.

Where have you been these past few months?

Hmmm…let’s see –  moving into a new home, trying to unpack boxes, begging my sous chef to take a nap.

How’s that going for you?

Not well.  Currently she is wide awake, pulling toys out of a half unpacked box and laughing maniacally.

Have you tried sleep training?

I am far, far too lazy and indulgent for sleep training.

So, what do you think of life in central Illinois?

It’s lovely here.  There’s a lot of corn.

I hear you’re Catholic now, what’s with that?

Yes, I was baptized, confirmed and received my first communion at Easter Vigil.  This was the culmination of a two year process of conversion.  I’m still a baby Catholic, just fresh from being a Catechumen.  So, be gentle.

But, Catholic!?

Indeed.  I plan on writing more extensively about my conversion when I get a chance.  In the meantime, just know that I’m happier than I have ever been, and still very much the same person you have always known.  I have no plans on smacking you in the face with a Bible any time soon.

So, what’s for supper tonight?

Well, in sheer frustration from my sous chef’s lack of napping, I just ate four Oreos.  So, yeah…there’s that.  What are you making for supper?

Let’s see, maniacal baby, Oreoes for dinner, Catholicism…that about covers it.

What’s new with you?

Also, the sous chef is such a big girl since I last posted!  Here’s an updated picture.

I pretty much run the show now.

2 Responses to “An Update and a Challenge”

  1. Bree September 13, 2011 at 5:48 pm #

    I love this post! I started my blog because I too was having a tough time with the delicate balance of juggling everything! 🙂

    • sunandmoonandstars September 13, 2011 at 7:10 pm #

      Thank you! The recipes on your blog are seriously inspiring. I’m going to try a few this week!

Leave a Reply

