It’s Music Time

21 Sep

 

La, la, la, la, la, la, la, la…say hello to Be-a-trice…

So begins our Tuesday night Kindermusik class. The other children sit docilely on their mothers’ laps, waiting for their names to be called. Meanwhile…

La, la, la, la, la, la…where’s Beatrice?

The class turns to find Beatrice pulling boxes out of a cabinet and throwing them across the room.

 

My husband and I are the only parents who both attend this class. Our dopey grins reflect the fact that we love our baby so much we must both come with her to Kindermusik.  Is there room for both of us to attend the class, you ask?

No way!

The limited space means that my husband almost tramples three other babies while dancing with our daughter.

Those poor babies, they have only their mothers with them. Our little girl is so lucky.

 

Today is only the beginning of the second week of class and we already know all the words to the songs.

“Gee, it’s nice to meet a friend…here tooooday!”

I actually have a little choreography I’ve prepared for this number, which I bust out while my husband loudly sings. A mother next to us glances over and laughs nervously, “You two know all the words!? Wow.”

Note she does not say ‘Wow, I’m impressed.’

My husband is mildly embarrassed but he gets right back on track in time for our rendition of ‘Grassy, Grass, Grass.’

During this song we’re all supposed to massage our babies while they lie on the floor in front of us. The other babies must have gotten this memo in advance because they willingly cooperate.

Our baby eyes something shiny across the room and makes a beeline. Her Dad and I follow, massaging her while she’s in transit, singing ‘Grassy, Grass, Grass.’

“Psst,” I say to my husband, “I’ll take her arms, you get her legs.” We get about three paces with our mobile massage unit before our daughter shakes us off and continues on her way.

 

A few minutes later it’s quiet time. Once again the other babies settle down next to their mommies and listen to the gentle music as it washes over them.

By this point I’m convinced that the other babies must be part of some sort of email list that I am unaware of.  I make a mental note to bring this up with the teacher after class.

Quiet time continues and our baby decides to crawl around the circle, slapping the moms on their butts and yelling “DADDY!!”

Hmmm…slapping a woman on her butt while she’s trying to sleep, where did she learn that?

 

Class is almost over and the teacher begins to sing a farewell song to all. I turn around to see my girl body slamming a little boy. “No, no, honey, this is Kindermusik, not WWE Smackdown.” She looks disappointed by this revelation.

Back in the car I say to my husband, “Do you think it’s weird that we’re the only parents who both attend?”

“Hmmm…,” he says, “no.”

 

We’ll both see you next week in Kindermusik!

2 Responses to “It’s Music Time”

  1. Abbie September 25, 2011 at 1:22 pm #

    I ❤ you.

    • sunandmoonandstars September 25, 2011 at 3:38 pm #

      Thanks, Abs! 🙂

Leave a Reply

