The Problem With Men.

31 Oct

Sometimes men are cleaner than women.  It doesn’t happen often but, on occasion, one of these rare creatures will reach adulthood. My husband is such a man.

Now, for those of you who know me well, (I’m looking at you college roommates) you might say, “Cleaner than you?  A garbage dump is cleaner than you!”  And yes, I’ll be the first to admit that cleaning was not my forte from the ages of two to thirty.  But, I’ve improved quite a bit from those days.

Back then, in the “good old days,” I had so much garbage in my kitchen that my roommate and I suspected someone could feasibly be living among it and we wouldn’t know.  We named this person “Cracky” and talked about him a lot, actually.  We preferred to talk about him than say, take out the garbage. Luckily, my husband, who was then just my boyfriend, would come over and take out the garbage for us once in a while.    My roommate and I would call to him from the couch, “be careful in there, we think there’s someone living behind last Thanksgiving’s turkey carcass!”  It was probably around this time, watching from my comfy seat on the couch, cup of coffee in hand, while my boyfriend disposed of the last bag of leaky garbage, that I knew I wanted to be with him forever.

And who says romance is dead?

While I’m getting better in my eternal quest for cleanliness, my husband still has me beat.  Especially in the realm of the bathroom sink. I was reminded of this this morning when I walked into our bathroom and noticed this.

This is his side of the sink.  Notice those apothecary jars full of cotton?  Those are mine, they just won’t fit on my side of the sink, so I put them on his side. I’m tricky like that.

Here’s why they won’t fit on my side.

This is my side of the sink.

And to be honest this is actually quite clean for me.  Generally there’s also a few tea cups crammed in there, some diaper rash cream, dirty cotton balls, an old wash cloth, some crumpled up dollar bills, and my cellphone, all hiding in the mess.

But, like I said, I’m getting better.

So, today I’d like to thank my husband for cleaning up behind me for almost ten years.  If you’re lucky you have at least fifty more years of cleaning up behind me ahead of you!

2 Responses to “The Problem With Men.”

  1. Abbie November 1, 2011 at 4:01 pm #

    I am remembering how you were ALWAYS the culprit whenever we’d run out of drinking glasses….

    • sunandmoonandstars November 1, 2011 at 5:41 pm #

      I have five drinking glasses sitting on my bedside table as I type this.

Leave a Reply

