A Date With A Tornado.

29 Apr

This past weekend my husband and I had a very special date. We went away to St Louis, just the two of us.  It was a momentous occasion for two reasons.

1.  It was to be the  first time my sous chef  would spend the night without her mommy.  Were there tears when Mommy and Daddy left?  Yes, sadly, there were.   There was a veritable ocean of tears accompanied by snotty tissues, unsightly blubbering, hiccuping and perhaps even a howl or two. Yet, all of these thing were coming from me.  My sous chef, eyes dry, said a quick goodbye and got right down to her two favorite activities; bossing around her grandparents and eating cookies.

2.  This date was the first time my husband and I have had a day and night alone, together, in two years.  Our plan was to catch a Cardinals game at Busch Stadium, do a little sightseeing,  and finish the day off with a romantic dinner for two.  It was going to be a perfect, romantic, carefree day.

Or not.

Although there were storms forecast for the day, the Cardinals game went off without a hitch.  We had great seats, were not sitting by any annoying drunkards and, most importantly, the Cardinals won!

We walked back to the hotel and since the sky was an ominous grey, we decided to skip the sightseeing and just relax.  Plus,  I was exhausted from eating too many peanuts.  Cracking all those shells really takes a toll after a while.   We checked in and I sent my husband out to procure me a chai latte while I lounged around and watched Bravo.  I love Bravo.

After an hour or two of this bliss, I decided to start getting ready for my date.  I was going to do something unheard of since having a baby. I was going to take my time getting ready and put on makeup.  Crazy, right?  To me this is the greatest luxury in the world.  For once while I was getting ready no one was going to be clinging to my leg, throwing Q-tips in the toilet,  smearing my mascara on the wall or taking off her diaper and running around naked.

After I got ready, I made my husband take a picture of me, so I could have proof that at some point in my early 30’s I got a chance to put on makeup.

We arrived outside the hotel and the sky was dark…really, really dark.  I didn’t think much of it and my husband ran to get the car.  He was going to pick me up since I was wearing heels.  Heels at 25 weeks pregnant is a dangerous combo and I wanted to avoid walking at all costs.  The second he left a loud, continuous siren rang out over the city.  In seconds the sky turned from black to an eerie green.  My husband pulled up in the car and I jumped in, but we didn’t go anywhere because suddenly hail, the size of golf balls, started falling.

I turned to my husband and said,

“Umm…maybe we should take cover or something?”

And then we sat there for a few minutes, like idiots, trying to get weather updates on our iphones.  Because for some reason, the tornado sirens and the crazy hail and the GREEN sky were not enough of an indication that something was really wrong.

I glanced inside the hotel lobby and everyone seemed to be running for cover, so we hopped out of the car and decided to join them.

And this is how we ended up spending the “romantic dinner” portion of our evening.  In the basement of the hotel waiting out a tornado.  And lo and behold, who do you think was there with us?  Why all the annoying drunkards who, although not sitting with us at the game, were apparently staying in our hotel.  Sigh.

The storm eventually blew over, but our reservation and desire for a big night out were both a thing of the past.  So we ended our evening with room service cheeseburgers, pajamas, and “The Grey” on pay per view.  Truth be told, it was the most fun I’ve had in ages.

Now, hopefully, we won’t have to wait another two years before doing it again.

4 Responses to “A Date With A Tornado.”

  1. Vicki Bensinger April 29, 2012 at 8:12 pm #

    I’m from st louis. My husband and I were dining at the Cheescake Factory at the Galleria and they closed the second level due to the tornado. Did you see a tent blew over injuring 100 and killing 1 person just outside the stadium? You were lucky. Glad you had a good time in spite of the weather.

    • sunandmoonandstars April 30, 2012 at 3:40 am #

      We saw it after it happened. What a horrible tragedy. We’ve only recently moved to the midwest and I was shocked by how quickly the tornado came in.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Iowa « Sun & Moon & Stars - December 3, 2012

    […] back at the hotel, eating pizza and watching movies by 7:30pm. This seems to be our modus operandi every time we leave town. The most distressing thing of all was that we made our hasty exit before the cake was cut, a […]

  2. 7 Quick Takes | Sun & Moon & Stars - May 31, 2013

    […] 3. We’re spending the day in St. Louis next weekend! Our plan is to meet up with some friends and take the kids to the zoo. If anyone has any recommendations for kid-friendly restaurants please let me know. Also, let’s hope there isn’t a tornado this time. […]

Leave a Reply

