My Sous Chef Saves the Day (again)!

7 May

I was feeling a little down last week and over the weekend. For some reason, I’m gaining a LOT more weight with this pregnancy than I did with my sous chef. I’m eating well, exercising, drinking plenty of water and staying healthy. And yet, I’ve gone way over the “recommended weight gain” for my height/age/bmi. And I still have three months to go! Sigh. I try not to get too worried about this. I know that every woman is different, and that my body is doing what it needs to do to make another healthy girl. I look at my sous chef and I know that the discomfort that comes with pregnancy is so worth it. But, I can’t help but feel a little disheartened when I get the raised eyebrows from my doctor as she look at my chart and says, “you’ve gained how much, this month?”

This distress is compounded by the fact that a lot of my friends are currently pregnant and they all seem to be more of the “I wore my skinny jeans home from the hospital!” variety. So, I feel a little alone, and not sure who to talk to about this. Then, I chastise myself for being so superficial as to care about this at all. All that matters is that I stay healthy and my baby is healthy! Double Sigh.

I found myself mulling all of this over today when I was giving my sous chef a bath. I was thinking about poor old Jessica Simpson and her gallons of amniotic fluid and was quietly thanking God that no one was putting me on the cover of US Weekly in my current state… Suddenly, I heard a little voice, say, “I love you, Mommy.” This was the first time my sous chef had said this completely unprompted. The first time she had felt the need to tell me this on her own. As I looked at her little face, covered in bubbles, gazing up at me, my anxiety melted away. I knew that all of my fretting about a few pounds had been pointless. Because in the end, this is what I get, a sweet girl, taking a bath and telling me how much she loves me, her mommy. And I know that this is the only thing that matters. Thanks, baby girl, I needed that.

Image

You’re welcome, Mom. I’ll take my payment in the form of chocolate before bed.

2 Responses to “My Sous Chef Saves the Day (again)!”

  1. eripaige May 8, 2012 at 5:17 pm #

    This made me a little weepy. Bea is an absolute angel! And I know little girl #2 will be just as wonderful as her big sister.

    • sunandmoonandstars May 9, 2012 at 3:56 am #

      She is! I can’t wait to see what a good big sister she will be!

Leave a Reply

