Mass, Meatballs and my Maniac

10 Jun

Sunday I woke up with two goals:

1. Go to Mass

2. Make Meatballs

Obviously, it’s my life’s goal to transform into a small, Italian grandmother and despite my Irish/German heritage, I’d say I’m well on my way.

However, as is usually the case when you live with a 35″ maniac, things did not exactly go according to plan.

1.  Mass was an utter disaster.  The scene played out something like this:

Sous chef starts climbing around on the pew  like a rabid monkey.  Mommy takes her into the vestibule and she headbutts her a la the pub scene in the film ‘Trainspotting.’  With tears in her eyes and a possible broken nose, Mommy brings her back into the sanctuary where she immediately shouts, “Go home, Mommy and Daddy!” at the top of her lungs.  The weary Mommy approaches the altar to receive  communion while the sous chef flails violently around. Upon seeing her mother receive the blessed host she screams, “No, no, no, AMEN!!” At this point the Eucharistic Minister attempts to bestow a little blessing upon the maniac (clearly sensing she needs it) to which she responds, “NO, NO Blessings!!”  Mommy wonders on the way back to her pew if perhaps her baby is some sort of traddy (her Father certainly has this tendency), which would explain A LOT about her behavior today.  To test her theory, Mommy will check to see if her sous chef’s jaw clenches the next time someone starts applauding during Mass.  On the way home from Mass, Mommy has a minor nervous breakdown.

End scene.

2.  Relative to the scene above, my meatball making party went off without a hitch.  My goal is to prepare some freezer meals that I can easily warm up after the baby is born.  I meant to do this before my sous chef was born but we lived in a tiny, tiny apartment and our refrigerator was made by Fisher Price, so there was no freezer space to speak of.  Today I managed to make 50 delicious meatballs using this recipe.  For my extra-large batch, I doubled the recipe and used ground beef in place of  ground turkey.  Please let me know if you have any suggestions for other freezer friendly meals.  I want to prepare as much as possible in advance so that after the baby comes I don’t find myself eating Potbelly’s twice a day and wondering why the baby weight just won’t budge.

Because I know how appetizing it is to see meatballs on a Monday morning.

Leave a Reply

