Greek Pasta Salad

24 Jun

It’s been awhile since I’ve posted anything remotely food related, so I thought I’d shake things up with a recipe today.  I’ve been craving Greek salad lately and am forcing my husband to eat them on a nightly basis.  I think it’s a weird third trimester thing.  With my sous chef I craved Cobb salad and ate about ten a week for the last month of my pregnancy.  Why is this interesting, you ask?  Well, I’ll just leave that to you to figure out.

To change things up and because we must always eat pasta on Sunday night, I turned my Greek salad into a pasta salad and it was magnificent.  A perfect summer dinner if I do say so myself.  Try it and you will not be sorry. Feel free to omit the tuna to keep it veg friendly.

 

You will need:

1lb of whole wheat pasta shells

2 tomatoes, chopped

1 small red onion, diced

1 cucumber, peeled and chopped

3 TBSP kalamata olives, pitted and halved

1 jar/can of good quality tuna packed in olive oil, drained and flaked

1 can chickpeas, drained and rinsed

1/2 cup of feta cheese, crumbled

 

For the dressing:

1/4 cup olive oil

1/4 cup red wine vinegar

1 tsp dijon mustard

2 TBSP mayonnaise

a handful of fresh herbs, I used dill, basil and parsley

2 cloves of garlic, peeled

1/4 cup of feta cheese

 

To make, simply cook the pasta, drain it and allow it to cool.  While it’s still hot, toss the pasta in a little olive oil so it doesn’t stick together as it cools.  Chop all the other ingredients and mix in with the cooled pasta.  To make the dressing, throw everything into a food processor and mix it up.  You may need to add more olive oil to get to your desired consistency.  I like the dressing on the thick side, it sticks well to the pasta that way.  Pour the dressing over the pasta and stir everything together.  Chill in the fridge for about an hour or until your young maniacs go to bed and it’s time for you to eat, whichever comes first.

 

 

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

