Mommy Be Animals

2 Jul

My sous chef has recently invented a new game called, Mommy Be Animals.   It goes something like this:

Sous chef stands/sits in the kitchen doorway and shouts, “Mommy Be Animals,” until her exhausted Mommy relents, abandons the very important task that is currently occupying her time (watching The Bachelorette), and sits in the middle of the living room floor.  Sous chef then shouts out different types of animals for Mommy to “be.”  Mommy’s performance is evaluated, and depending on whether the sous chef is pleased Mommy either gets;

a) a running hug for a job well done.

b) a command for Mommy to be a squirrel, clearly a cruel and unusual punishment.

Now this game is difficult for a number of reasons, not the least of which being that I am hugely pregnant.  To say that this somewhat hinders my ability to be a nimble panther would be an understatment.  In addition, my sous chef has decided that the only place where Mommy can sit while playing this game is directly in front of the living room window at precisely the time of day when our mailman comes to drop the mail through the slot in our front door.  I shudder to think of what must be going through this man’s mind when he walks by the window to witness an enormous, pregnant woman pretending to be a manatee.  Luckily for her my sous chef stands out of sight, saving herself from all embarrassment.  Finally, I am convinced that my sous chef and her Daddy, under the guise of  “story time” are actually taking some sort of advanced course in zoology.  This is why instead of asking me to be, say, a cat or dog, she requests that, “Mommy be alpaca” and “Mommy be axolotl.”  At this last request I just flop over on the floor and wail (see b above).

 

Mommy be orca!

2 Responses to “Mommy Be Animals”

  1. Cheryll Tate July 3, 2012 at 7:09 pm #

    Bea, is so precious but things you do is simply hilarious! I laughed so hard that I woke your father up from a deep slumber not an easy task. Love you all mom

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes | Sun & Moon & Stars - May 31, 2013

    […] SH*T in case the mailman thought I was trying to send him a message. He and I already have a bizarre relationship. When I told Sean about this he just smiled and said he always knew Bea was punk […]

Leave a Reply

