Love Song Link Up

3 Jul

The lovely Hallie, over at Betty Beguiles is having a love song link up today. Since my sous chef is taking an extra long nap right now I thought I’d join in!

 

1) Our wedding song.

Van Morrison – Sweet Thing

 

2) My husband and I have a mutual love for Grace Slick, which we have passed on to our daughter.  Years ago he brought this 7 inch home as kind of a joke.  But apparently the joke’s on us, because we love it and listen to it way too much.  It’s one of two songs that my daughter knows almost all the lyrics to. Plus, the video is pure 80’s awesomeness.

Starship – Nothing’s Gonna Stop Us Now


 

3)  And speaking of the magnificent Grace Slick, this is my sous chef’s favorite song.  When her Daddy comes home from work we put this on the jukebox and have a dance party.  You can take the baby out of San Francisco, but you can’t take the psychedelic hippy out of the baby, I guess.

Jefferson Airplane – Somebody to Love

 

 

4)  My friend played this at her wedding and it was lovely.  One of my favorites.

Big Star – I’m in Love with a Girl


 

5)  This is where I reveal myself to be a product of the 90’s.  My friend Abbie and I love this song and I remember listening to it a lot around the time I met my husband.

Mazzy Star – Fade Into You

 

6)  When my sous chef was born my husband used to sing this song to her to help her sleep.  Whenever I hear it I think of my two favorite people.  From the Gershwins’ Porgy & Bess it’s  Summertime.  Sung here by Louis Armstrong and Ella Fitzgerald.

 

3 Responses to “Love Song Link Up”

  1. Hallie Lord (@BettyBeguiles) July 3, 2012 at 12:57 pm #

    Oh my gosh. It’s been so long since I’ve heard “Fade Into You.” Thank you for reminding me just how much I love that song!

    • sunandmoonandstars July 3, 2012 at 1:00 pm #

      You’re welcome! Thank you for making such a fun link-up. I’m definitely taking a few nice trips down memory lane.

  2. Jennifer July 8, 2012 at 5:32 am #

    I’ve grown to love Van Morrison’s music more over the years, I’m regretting now that the one time I heard him playing at an all day concert ‘Self Aid’ in Dublin in 1986 when I was in college…I fell asleep!!

Leave a Reply

