7 Quick Takes – No baby yet

27 Jul

Joining Jen for another exciting installment!

1.  So as you may have gleaned from my descriptive title, there is no baby here yet.  This morning my doctor suggested the usual things, eating spicy food, going for a walk, etc.  I gave her my best ‘this isn’t my first time to this rodeo withering look’  (which is not intimidating at all) because I tried ALL of those things with my sous chef and NONE of them brought her here any faster.  Do doctors really believe that spicy food brings on labor?  I suspect it’s some kind of cruel joke they play on us, knowing the heartburn that will inevitably ensue.

2.  So as you may have gleaned from Quick Take numero uno, I’m a little on the grumpy side.  I don’t love the last few weeks of pregnancy.  Does anyone? Like any rational mother, I asked my sous chef, “Why won’t baby sissy be born already?”  And she replied with great certainty, “Ees warm.”   Now I’m not sure if she was referring to the horrible hell on earth that is Summer ’12 or the warm coziness she experienced while in utero, or (most likely) the stink nugget she had just deposited in her diaper, but it gave me something to ponder.

3.  My sous chef has finally shed her toddler mullet.  I thought it best to give her a more daddy friendly hairstyle.  That is, a hairstyle that requires no clips, bows or hairbands in order to look decent.  This way when Daddy is in charge of hair styling after the baby is born he can take a ‘brush and go’ approach.  So, behold the before:

 

 

And the after:

 

Lookin’ good, cutie pie.

4. I had the most awesome Craigslist score last week.  I found this chair, perhaps the chair of my dreams, for only $80!    I’m not really sure the sweet, elderly couple selling it really realized what they were selling and, of course, I wasn’t about to tell them.  Instead I just made them load it into my car for me and then I proceeded to drive off, happy as a clam.

 

5.  My sous chef is on a bath strike.  It’s been about a week now and baths are the worst. thing. ever.  I’m not sure where this came from, but as with all stages in our toddler’s development, we muddle through and offer bribes whenever necessary.  Tonight we coaxed her into the tub with the finest of Swiss chocolate.   And even though there was still much butt clenching and screaming, at least she was in the tub, which is more than we can say for our attempts earlier in the week.   A parenting triumph if ever there was one.

6.  Sean and I are researching some vacation spots for next summer.  We want to stay in the US, simply because we are too lazy to get passports for our babies, just yet.  I’d love a beach vacation along the lines of the Virgin Islands, but I’m not sure if that’s fun for toddlers.  Sean loves a  vacation with some history –  think small, locally run museums, rife with  placards.  What can I say, he’s a wild man.  Suggestions are welcome and appreciated.

7.  Okay, so I’m off to eat some spicy Indian food and see what happens.  Wish us luck!

7 Responses to “7 Quick Takes – No baby yet”

  1. Abbie July 27, 2012 at 6:33 pm #

    Puerto Rico? Could be a compromise of Sean’s and your preferred vacation types, plus you don’t need a passport.

  2. Abbie July 27, 2012 at 6:34 pm #

    Or Columbus, Ohio 😉 There’s the Hogan Beach as well as lots o’ museums!

  3. Anonymous July 28, 2012 at 10:57 am #

    Auntie Di-di has a beach house in Puerto Rico! I’m sure she’d be a great tour guide.

  4. Erika July 29, 2012 at 9:59 am #

    I love Puerto Rico! It is beautiful, filled with history, and amazing food!

Leave a Reply

