7 Quick Takes – Baby Bonanza

10 Aug

These will be very quick, I admit, because my brain has turned into a postpartum, sleep-deprived mush.  See Jen for something much more exciting.

1. Our new, little peanut is settling in well at home.  She turned 1 week old last night and we celebrated by not sleeping, and nursing all. night. long.  We’ll be celebrating in very much the same way tonight, because we’re party animals around here.

2. Hazel and Bea have already formed a diabolical  plan to overthrow their parental unit.  From what I can gather they have divided up the day so that one of them is awake at all times.  When one becomes drowsy the other is roused from her slumber, full of joie de vivre and usually with a poopy diaper to boot.  So far they have yet to be awake at the same time, so it is a mystery to me as to when their plan was formed.

3.  While I am trying not to let myself worry too much about losing the baby weight, I have to admit it would help if my sous chef would stop lifting my shirt, pointing to my still protruding belly and saying, “Mommy have more baby?”

4.  I’ve been asked a lot how my sous chef is handling to transition to big sisterhood.  I have to say it’s going remarkably well.  Mostly she just wants to kiss the baby every 30 seconds.  Before each kiss she yells, “I wanna kiss Hazel!” at the top of her lungs.  In addition, she has developed an obsession with her sister’s knit hats, in that the baby must be wearing her hat at all times.  If it starts to slide off, she begins to panic and yells for Mommy to “fix it!!”  So poor Hazel will likely be wearing a baby skull cap until her 20th birthday.

5.  I just nodded off. Give me a moment here. Here’s another baby picture.

6.  For some unknown reason, I’ve had a strange desire to go camping recently.  Now, anyone who knows me knows that this is very out of character because, well, I hate camping.  Yet, I keep thinking about it, and researching spots within driving distance, and the other day I even found myself googling “midwest yurts”.  If I do end up following through with this odd desire, I will be sure to blog about it because the idea of me camping is, frankly, hilarious.

7. The Olympics were on and I have to admit I watched almost none of it.  There was  a moment last week (at 2am in the hospital) where I watched about five minutes of a women’s badminton finale and it was thrilling what with China facing off against their biggest rivals…China.  Everyone in the audience was screaming for China and waving Chinese flags and I could not for the life of me figure out which team they were rooting for.  I eventually switched it off because I could sort of see where it was going.  Anyway I hope your Olympic viewing was much more exciting.  Now that I think about it, I may have hallucinated that whole China vs China thing.

5 Responses to “7 Quick Takes – Baby Bonanza”

  1. Anonymous August 14, 2012 at 8:09 am #

    Congratulations to you all! Little Hazel and I have something in common — August 3! Take care. Hazel is darling!
    –Minnesota Mare

  2. Mare August 15, 2012 at 5:43 am #

    Congratulations to you all! Your sweet new Hazel and I have something in common — August 3! So happy for you, Sean, and Bea.
    –“Minnesota Mare”

    • sunandmoonandstars August 16, 2012 at 10:44 am #

      Thanks, Mare! We are so happy to have her here safe and sound. She’s a cutie, for sure. At first we though she was a bit more mellow than her sister, but I think she was lulling us into some false sense of security. In fact, she appears to enjoy the same “up all night’ antics that her sister did!

      • Mare August 21, 2012 at 12:49 pm #

        Glad all is well! If you ever find yourselves visting Minnesota on August 3, Hazel and I will have to celebrate our birthdays together!!!! Us “Leos” are party animals!!!

        Again, so happy for you all!

        –Mare

      • sunandmoonandstars August 22, 2012 at 9:58 am #

        Lol! I’m sure we’ll do a summer trip at some point. We’ll celebrate by letting Auntie Maria babysit while Mommy and Daddy have a few (hundred) drinks!

Leave a Reply

