7 Quick Takes – Gout Edition!

12 Oct

1. Have you ever been party to a six-hour long tantrum?  If you’d like to experience one, feel free to stop by my house sometime. They are all the rage right now. Today’s began at the the very hint of dawn and lasted through a trip to the grocery store. It’s probably still going on, but I’ve elected to turn the sound off on the baby monitor. Some of the highlights included: screaming at the butcher, and losing the use of one’s tiny legs in the parking lot, thereby forcing Mommy to drag her wayward child into the store kicking and screaming (apparently this is a real thing, not just a cute expression).

2. Can’t make the trip to Illinois to take part in this new, tantrum trend? Fear not! I will send the tantrums to you. You only have to pay shipping and handling and make sure that your fridge is well-stocked with strawberry kefir.

3. Who, you ask, is responsible for sending her mother to the brink of insanity, then back, then to the brink yet again? Why this little cherub, of course.

4. And what about the baby? She’s fantastic. She’s smiling and gooing and gaahing and generally being lovely. I’m soaking it all up before I have to start dragging her across parking lots, limbs flailing.

5. It’s election season! Have you noticed? So far, the upcoming election has inspired me to do two things: put a Vatican Flag sticker on my car (my response to the Obromney stickers I’m seeing everywhere) and wonder aloud who Joe Biden’s Botoxologist is so that I can make a mental note to never use him. Also, his dentist should be arrested. Those pearly whites are too hot to handle.

6. I had an awkward encounter with a neighbor today, an elderly gentleman who was a little too eager to tell me how beautiful my mother is. He ran into her last week and it was all he could talk about. He kept looking at me, shaking his head and saying, “I just can’t believe you’re her daughter, there’s no way she’s old enough.” I’m going to go with the “he thinks my mother looks really young, not that I look really old” line of thinking on this, or else I might curl up into a ball until the middle of the next century.

7. On a final note I’m developing gout in my big toe (thanks, Dad). And just in time for my birthday. Luckily acupuncture helps with this a lot, but still…it’s gout. I must be descended from wealthy, fat, French kings, but with neither the French-ness nor the wealth.  Hoo-ray.

Oh and speaking of birthdays, Happy, Happy Birthday (tomorrow) to my mother-in-law!  We love you and miss you!

Head on over to Jen’s place for more!  Go!

11 Responses to “7 Quick Takes – Gout Edition!”

  1. Jennifer October 12, 2012 at 1:04 pm #

    Dear oh dear, what a little rascal!! And a total cutie-pie!! Never fear, some day very soon you’ll suddenly realise there hasn’t been a tantrum lately, it’s all very transient. Great idea about the Vatican sticker, I’m feeling very frustrated here in Ireland I can’t go over there and cast my vote to get rid of that terrible administration. The Irish media is totally in fawning mode to the Democrats it’s sickening. I’m rooting for you all!!

  2. sunandmoonandstars October 12, 2012 at 1:12 pm #

    Thank-you! She’s a handful, but a very sweet one! Ireland is such a beautiful country, I haven’t been since I was a teenager and would love so much to go back with my girls and my husband. The media are insufferable here too, I find myself just tuning most of it out!

    • Jennifer October 12, 2012 at 2:28 pm #

      Oh definitely! Tune out! I find myself listening more and more to either music or Catholic radio from America via my iPhone. The media here is so anti-Catholic, it’s unrelenting. I don’t envy the religius freedom battle you have on your hands though. Ireland IS beautiful though.

  3. Christine Falk Dalessio October 12, 2012 at 2:05 pm #

    Now I want a Vatican flag sticker for my car!
    And, my hubby deals with gout- drinking black cherry juice also helps. We usually find it in the organic section of our market. Feel better.

    • sunandmoonandstars October 12, 2012 at 2:45 pm #

      Thanks for the heads up about the cherry juice, I’ll try it! I got my sticker on Amazon and I love it!

  4. Cheryll Tate October 12, 2012 at 7:42 pm #

    Are you sure the old gent was not affected by severe cataracts. It’s amazing what you can’t see when you have cataracts.

  5. Toni October 13, 2012 at 10:53 am #

    Thanks for the birthday wishes! Hugs to both the grandbabies–and their parents! . Hopefully the kicking and screaming has subsided 🙂 Miss all of you!

  6. Abbie October 18, 2012 at 3:21 am #

    I’m sorry, tantrums sound terrible and all, but I have to laugh at the mental image of you dragging Bea across the parking lot!

    • sunandmoonandstars October 18, 2012 at 3:26 am #

      It is funny. Sometimes when I am in these situations I have to just laugh too. Sometimes she’s like a small version of The Hulk.

      • Abbie October 18, 2012 at 2:14 pm #

        LOL – that is exactly what I have been picturing! Hulk Toddler!

Leave a Reply

