Brotherly Love

16 Oct

My mother recently unearthed a few boxes of my precious, teenage belongings and deposited them at my house. I’m still sifting through everything, most of it is junk, but a few gems have been discovered.

Take this for instance,

A birthday card in honor of my 16th year from my younger brother.  He was eight-years-old at the time this card was made.  This card was most likely accompanied by one of his stuffed animals, wrapped in newspaper.

 

Open it up and you will find this,

 

Today is your birthday and your a year older. I love you more than any thing they is because your my sister and your 16.

 

Why, thank you little brother. I love you too because you’re my brother and you’re 25.

 

The card is held together with tape because moments after giving it to me he got mad at me and decided to take the card back, rip it up, and tell me to go shove my birthday you know where.  A few hours later he redelivered the card with the tape and a sweet apology.

 

My brothers are the best.  Even though we often have our differences we always tape things up and move on.  Today is my oldest brother’s 35th (eek!) birthday.  He would not want a photo of himself on here, so instead I’ll just say, Happy Birthday, Keith! I hope you have a wonderful celebration and I’m looking forward to seeing you soon!  Love, your sister.

 

 

 

 

2 Responses to “Brotherly Love”

  1. Jennifer October 16, 2012 at 1:49 pm #

    That is so lovely! I have (amongst a variety of other children) a 16 year old girl and an 8 year old boy, I can totally visualise the above altercation taking place in our house-Sellotape and all! Love means saying you’re sorry lol!

  2. Erika October 18, 2012 at 11:46 am #

    What a great card! And I knowing Ryan a tiny bit I know how awful he felt after he ripped up the card. What a great keepsake.

Leave a Reply

