Theme Thursday: Hats or Scarves

7 Feb

I’m joining in with Clan Donaldson’s Theme Thursday this week.  I’d like to say a big thank-you to Cari for hosting this link-up. It’s nice to have an excuse to post about photography, since it is something that used to be a hobby of mine. Years ago, when I lived in Chicago, I turned my bedroom into a darkroom and slept on the couch in my living room.  It used to take me two hours to get across town to Calumet Photo on the El. There, I would buy a few rolls of black and white film so I could spend my day taking photos of beautiful Chicago architecture. In the evening I would end up with Sean at the Empty Bottle watching bands and taking more photos.

It was a very romantic, carefree time in my life, and I was very happy.

However, I wouldn’t go back there for the world.

Today, I have two subjects who are far more beautiful than anything Chicago has to offer. I was lucky enough to catch them in their cutie hats last weekend before we all went out to play in the snow. They remind me that as nice as it is to be carefree, it’s immeasurably better to have something to care for.

ImageImageImage

8 Responses to “Theme Thursday: Hats or Scarves”

  1. Dwija Borobia (@HouseUnseen) February 7, 2013 at 8:04 pm #

    So very sweet. What precious nuggets!

  2. Micaela February 8, 2013 at 3:19 am #

    Yes: caring is so much better than carefree.

    Your children are beautiful and you are very talented. 🙂

  3. Mary February 8, 2013 at 6:51 am #

    The third is so precious with the light gentle on their heads, and the baby studying fingers. So sweet!

    • sunandmoonandstars February 8, 2013 at 9:54 am #

      Thank you! Chubby little baby hands might be my favorite thing ever.

  4. Cari Donaldson (@CariDonaldson) February 8, 2013 at 8:55 am #

    Oh my gosh, “They remind me that as nice as it is to be carefree, it’s immeasurably better to have something to care for.” I’m going to turn that into one of those inspirational picture things. So beautiful.

    Not, however, as beautiful as your babies. And the lighting. And the color palette. That second picture down? Gorgeous.

    Thanks for linking up. Hope to see you next week.

    • sunandmoonandstars February 8, 2013 at 10:09 am #

      Thank you! Whenever I write a post after the kids are in bed it ends up really sentimental, as I gaze on their sweet, sleeping faces. Then, they wake up and start throwing things at me and all I can really write about is how I need some booze.

      See you next week!

Leave a Reply

