7 Quick Takes

19 Apr

Joining Grace this week, since Jen has her hands full with her sweet baby boy (who is finally home from the hospital!).

1. What’s that, you say? You don’t want to hear about the crap-tastic weather we are having here in Central Illinois? I take it the weather where you are is equally as rainy/cold/not spring-like in the least? Well, to you I say, at least we don’t live in Minnesota.

Photo stolen from my sister-in-law.

Photo stolen from my sister-in-law.

Oh, you do live in Minnesota? My condolences.

2. Since we introduced Hazel to solids she hasn’t looked back. She eats everything in sight, pulling food off my plate, picking things up off the floor and even grabbing the spoon and shoving it into her mouth since, apparently, I move too slow. This is all new to me since Bea didn’t eat at all her first year of life and basically subsisted on Goldfish Crackers for the second. I spent so much time stressing about Bea not eating, that this is a huge relief to me. So, hooray for healthy eaters, and their cheeks.

Eating, of course.

Eating, of course.

3. After I tool the above photo of Hazel I asked Bea to smile for me. She responded with this:

photo 2 (16)

4. Finishing off with  a few Bea-isms because I can.

After I put shorts on her to sleep in…

Bea: Am I wearin’ my sun pants to bed?

5. Upon seeing me come down the stairs on Sunday morning dressed in my best…

Sean: Doesn’t Mommy look pretty, Bea?

Bea: Is she wearing her pajamas?

6. Walking into my room first thing in the morning…

Bea: (looks around) Mommy, where’s your chocolate stash?

Note: I have never gotten into my chocolate stash in front of her, how she knew of its existence is beyond me.

7. It’s been a rough week. Watching the horrors of the Boston tragedy, the Gosnell trial and the disaster in Texas have left me feeling overwhelmed. This weekend I want nothing more than to spend some time with my family and remember all the ways I am blessed. Have a wonderful weekend.

“Why does each thing on the earth war against each other thing? Why does each small thing in the world have to fight against the world itself? Why does a fly have to fight the whole universe? Why does a dandelion have to fight the whole universe? For the same reason that I had to be alone in the dreadful Council of the Days. So that each thing that obeys law may have the glory and isolation of the anarchist. So that each man fighting for order may be as brave and good a man as the dynamiter. So that the real lie of Satan may be flung back in the face of this blasphemer, so that by tears and torture we may earn the right to say to this man, ‘You lie!’ No agonies can be too great to buy the right to say to this accuser, ‘We also have suffered.” 
― G.K. Chesterton

2 Responses to “7 Quick Takes”

  1. eripaige April 19, 2013 at 10:02 pm #

    I feel super cool, my photo made your blog!

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. 7 Quick Takes | Sun & Moon & Stars - May 31, 2013

    […] I would like to devote my last take to complaining about the weather, because it is my favorite thing to do. I’ve realized we only have two season in the midwest: Winter and Tornado season. […]

Leave a Reply

