7 Quick Takes

31 May

1. Yesterday I found some sticky, gel letters for Bea to play with. She decided to stick them all over the windows by our front door. I would personally like to thank whoever invented these because they kept her busy for a whole 9 minutes while I cleaned the kitchen. However, as I was coming out of the kitchen I glanced at the windows, and saw she had clearly spelled out: RAT SH*T. Hmmm. I left the RAT but quickly rearranged SH*T in case the mailman thought I was trying to send him a message. He and I already have a bizarre relationship. When I told Sean about this he just smiled and said he always knew Bea was punk rock.

2. Bea had her first ballet class this week. She seemed less than impressed by the whole thing. While the other little girls danced and ran around “like butterflies,” she laid down on the floor and watched. When the teacher put on music she did her own little shimmy/shake in the corner while everyone else “galloped like horsies.” Also, she did her signature ballet move (shown to her by my Dad) which involves pumping her awkwardly bent leg  in the air. My Dad is many wonderful things, but a ballerina he is not.

Peeking in the studio before class.

Peeking in the studio before class.

3. We’re spending the day in St. Louis next weekend! Our plan is to meet up with some friends and take the kids to the zoo. If anyone has any recommendations for kid-friendly restaurants please let me know. Also, let’s hope there isn’t a tornado this time.

4. We spent Memorial Day weekend in Minnesota, visiting family. The day we left I drove to pick up Sean from work so we could get on the road at a decent time. As I was setting off, I turned the voice guidance on my GPS, which prompted Bea to ask: Mommy, is that St. Christopher?  

5. While in Minnesota we celebrated birthdays, my sister-in-law’s graduation (Congratulations, Eri!) and went to a family reunion. It was such a nice break for us all, especially for the girls who both decided to go on a no nap bender for most of the trip.  Now that we’re home they both have a cold which has prompted them each to have 200 meltdowns since waking up.  I put Bea in her bed at 11:00 and told her to rest which prompted her to start bawling because she told me I “said rest wrong.”

I call this one "Willpower"

I call this one “Willpower”

6. We were also lucky enough to attend mass at The Cathedral of Saint Paul while in the twin cities. It’s one of my favorites and my husband was confirmed there. We let Bea stay with my parents, but brought Hazel where she practiced her signature move: being really cute, getting you to lean in, then promptly using her baby nails to rip half your face off. Here she is in action.

IMG_0680

7. I would like to devote my last take to complaining about the weather, because it is my favorite thing to do. I’ve realized we only have two season in the midwest: Winter and Tornado season. Neither of these seasons impress me, and lately I’ve been spending allll day gazing at the greenish hue in the sky and trying to decide if we should just permanently move into our basement. I did get the Red Cross tornado app for my phone, which is free and is great for worry warts like me. It sends you a text when there are any watches/warnings in your county (or in whichever county you want to monitor). Let’s hope the tornado season ends soon (so we can get back to winter) and continue to pray and send donations to those so badly affected in Oklahoma.

Have a wonderful weekend, and go see Jen for more quick takes!

One Response to “7 Quick Takes”

  1. eripaige June 3, 2013 at 3:24 pm #

    Thanks for the congrats! And going to St. Paul’s was so much fun! Im so happy I could take you guys there. And Hazel was awesome! I also enjoyed her other signature move of being super cute, bringing you closer, only to get bopped on the head by a baby stuffed animal! Haha!

Leave a comment